How did we get this lucky?

I am certain that when we were all handed our babies at the care center, each parent looked around & thought “The other parents must be jealous, we obviously got the best one!”!

She’s been home for 10 1/2 months. Every day, several times a day, I think of how blessed we are. This is one amazing little girl! Yes, she is beautiful. Yes, she is healthy. Yes, she sleeps throught the night & is reliable napper. But what is amazing is how much she loves life!!

Every song she hears, whether its on the raido, from a commercial, the theme song from a tv show, at church, a ringtone, it is her favorite! It doesn’t matter what language or genre it is, she always announces “oh me like this song”, or “this a good song”! She loves food, not just the expected stuff like meat & noodles. She loves carrots, broccoli, fish… okay, she’s not crazy for canteloupe or sushi. She loves water. To drink, or to splash in. She loves having friends, she LOVES babies (Toukoul people: I have reason to believe she’s seen babies being well cared for & cherished!). You name it, this girl loves it!

She loves being Ethiopian, which I am thrilled about & feel an obligation to nurture. Often she will ask “Opian eat?” (asking to go to the Ethiopian restaurant). And she often asks/demands us to play Ethiopian music. If I pull up Ethiopian videos on youtube she will sit & watch them longer than anything else (excluding Annie, the Babies movie & Sesame Street!).

Above all, she has gratitude in her heart. I doubt you’ll ever hear someone say “thank you” more, or with more conviction, than this sweet girl. A hundred times a day I hear “oh Thank you Mommy, thank you so much!”

Ethiopia, Thank You! Thank you sooooo MUCH!

About tycobeans
I'm a mom of 3, two bio teens & a little princess from Ethiopia. We have lived all over, but are now settled in Utah. Mostly I'll be sharing about our family life, I hope I have something to say that you enjoy!

5 Responses to How did we get this lucky?

  1. northernnarratives says:

    Hi. Welcome to blogging! You truly have a wonderful daughter. Judy

  2. Tara Mandinec says:

    That has to be one of the sweetest things I think I have ever read in my life. I have long felt that adoption was a special way of showing how much a child is loved, because they were not made, they were picked and for such a young child to know that she is that special, well, she is obviously shown lots of it! As I am sure Jasmine and Ponyboy have as well. What a beautiful and very special little girl.

  3. What a lovely child! So many children live in a “Me2 culture we they want everything and appreciate nothing. I hope as she grows I hope she stays true to herself and her roots.

    PS I have subscribed to your blog. I saw your wordpress comments. BTW, if you take part in the Weekly photo challenge I have started linking back to different blogs.

    Enjoy your blogging journey it is great fun!

  4. tycobeans says:

    Thank you all for the lovely comments!

  5. Kelly says:

    She is so sweet!

Leave a Reply

