Look, Opians!

The other day we (Addis & myself) were driving home from playgroup. Addis was just babbling on & on about her new friend.

“You really like Ruthie, is she your friend?”

“no! She my sissar!”

“Well hon, she’s not your sister because you don’t have the same mom & dad”

“oh”

(long pause)
“Oofie my BRODDER”

A related story….

Ya know the picture boards they have in WalMart near the ceiling? Addis always points them out to me, “He eating PIZZA!” “ssh, dat baby SLEEPING”… there is one picture of an asian woman who she points out & says is her aunt. There is also an African American family located over the exit/entrance.

While we were checking out one day, she got all excited & told me “LOOK Mommy, OPIANS!” When I finally realized what she was talking about, I tried to break the news to her, in a way that a 2 yr old could understand, that they weren’t Ethiopian just because they were brown.

Now when we’re at WalMart (no! we’re not there EVERY day), she ALWAYS points their picture out to me, but doesn’t comment on it.

This is fascinating to me… It is the first time I know she’s recognized race (particularly her own), AND she’s pointing out to me that she knows I disagree with her but it hasn’t changed her mind.

About tycobeans
I'm a mom of 3, two bio teens & a little princess from Ethiopia. We have lived all over, but are now settled in Utah. Mostly I'll be sharing about our family life, I hope I have something to say that you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

