Bella Brown

It happened.

I knew it probably would. But I was hoping it would be another year, or maybe 2!, or more.

My beautiful perfect brown Princess said “I wish I white”.

Maybe she didn’t mean it with the depth I’m assigning to it. Even if that’s so, it’s a precurser to what she is likely to experience as an African growing up in a white family & community. A second later she was pointing out to her aunt “we match” to the palms of their hands. And then we talked about how the 3 of us match, we all have brown eyes. In fact, all the girls have brown & all the boys have blue.

And then that was that.

 

About tycobeans
I'm a mom of 3, two bio teens & a little princess from Ethiopia. We have lived all over, but are now settled in Utah. Mostly I'll be sharing about our family life, I hope I have something to say that you enjoy!

3 Responses to Bella Brown

  1. Dovess says:

    Awwwwhhh…. Maybe you can tell her about the tons of money us white folk spend and the great risks and drastic measures we take, to be brown… If it comes up in the future. Take her to a few tanning places and prove it to her. I bet she’ll walk out with a big ol’ smile. :o)

  2. Tara McMan says:

    Dovess was right on-we do spend tons of money to darken our skin and curl our hair. She will celebrate her differences, and be very proud of them, I am sure she does already, she has great parents and sibs that went literally across a planet to get her because the love for her specialness called out like a beacon to them! Now if that is NOT the most special then nothing is. Right?

  3. Pingback: Bella Brown; part 2 « peanutbutterinjerasandwiches

Leave a Reply

