The ‘Opian Mom

Since she came home (19 months ago), I’ve been talking to Addis about her “Ethiopian Mom”. I don’t think anyone would be surprised that I’m bringing her up, but people have seemed surprised that I’ve started so young. Why start talking about her when Addis is so little?

Well, she shouldn’t remember being “told”. She should always just know. As time goes by,  she will have moments where she suddenly “knows” what a part of her story means, but it shouldn’t be news to her. It is HER story, her history, and always having heard it will (I think) help her to internalize it and not be thrown off kilter later in life.

Also, starting right at the beginning means I’ve had plenty of time to work on telling it! Yes, it sounded very awkward at first! Sometimes it still does. But by the time the two of us can have a discussion about it, I will have had a lot of practice.

So what do I tell her? Well, I’m not going to tell You all the details, now am I?? We include her in prayers; “Please bless Addis’ Ethiopian mom that she has good health & let her know Addis is safe & loved”. Addis often (Often!) asks if I have a baby in my tummy. I tell her no, that I won’t have one in my tummy again, but that Jasmine & Ponyboy were in my tummy when they were babies. That Addis was in her Ethiopian Mom’s tummy. She has asked what her ‘Opian mom’s name is… Stuff like that.

There is an Ethiopian teenager that lives an hour or so from us who we see on occasion. When we do see her, Desta holds Addis a lot & says she’s going to keep her. Addis loves this! Recently, after asking if I have a baby in my tummy, Addis said: “Maybe Desta my ‘Opian mom?” I thought this was SO sweet! And also kind of sad.

About tycobeans
I'm a mom of 3, two bio teens & a little princess from Ethiopia. We have lived all over, but are now settled in Utah. Mostly I'll be sharing about our family life, I hope I have something to say that you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

