A Little Bit About My Job

I’ve been accused recently of being racist. And, at about the same time, I’m seeing it happen on political discussions on the internet. People on the right are accusing those on the left of being “racist” because they keep dragging up history, because they won’t let the subject go, because everyone is the same & let’s just start from there. 

They aren’t saying that I’m racist in the conventional manner…they are saying that I am feeding the fire of hate by speaking up & bringing light to disparities or hate I see. They say that whites are having their place chipped away by minorities percieved “special needs”.

Yeah…I say… fuck that.

If I see racism, I’m calling it out. 

First of all, I am offended by it myself, even if it doesn’t actuallly effect me.

Second of all, things aren’t going to magically “get better” because it’s been 150 yrs since the Emancipation Proclimation, or because we have a black president.

Third of all, I have a black child. IT’S MY JOB. 

Let me repeat, CALLING OUT RACISM IS MY JOB. 

 

About tycobeans
I'm a mom of 3, two bio teens & a little princess from Ethiopia. We have lived all over, but are now settled in Utah. Mostly I'll be sharing about our family life, I hope I have something to say that you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

